BAFTA Television Nominations 2014 – surprising omissions?

Image

Today saw the announcement of the nominations for this year’s television BAFTAs and they certainly contain (as usual) some surprising omissions that will no doubt create discussion and debate until the ceremony takes place on 18th May. For what it’s worth here are my thoughts on the categories I am most interested in.

  • Best Actor (Drama)– I’m thrilled to see Jamie Dornan nominated for The Fall and he’d probably be my choice. However where is David Tennant’s nomination for Broadchurch?! His performance in the ITV drama was filled with nuanced emotions that had millions hooked for weeks. Although not quite as ridiculous as his lack of recognition for Recovery in 2007, the fact neither performance has been recognised seems unfair for one of the UK’s strongest acting talents. Mind you I shouldn’t be surprised – the lack of awards for Parade’s End, one of the finest period pieces ever made, still frustrates me!
  • Best Actress (Drama) – An incredibly strong line up here, but if Olivia Colman misses out on a BAFTA for her emotionally powerful portrayal of Ellie Miller it’ll be a crime. I am however surprised and disappointed not to see recognition for Gillian Anderson in The Fall, as Stella Gibson was one of the most interesting characters on television last year. I also thought Elizabeth Moss was very good in the few episodes of Top of the Lake I managed to watch before bailing out so I’m surprised she didn’t make the shortlist.
  • Drama Series – My vote would have to go to Broadchurch, as it was the one drama that pulled me in completely and held my attention and interest from beginning to end, although I won’t be surprised if it goes to Top of the Lake, a series I tried to get in to but which ultimately left me cold.
  • International TV – Quite a tough choice here I think, although I’ve only seen House of Cards so that would get my vote. I’m about to finally start Breaking Bad though, so maybe my view will have changed by the ceremony in May!
  • Radio Times Audience Award – It’s usually entertaining to see the victor here (TOWIE anyone?!) and although I’m a Great British Bake Off addict and thought the Doctor Who 50th special was truly wonderful, it has to be Broadchurch. I was lucky enough to see episode one at a preview screening and from the reaction it received then you could sense it would do very well due to its superb writing, direction and performances. I’m apprehensive about a second series, as I’m not sure the first can be bettered.
  • Single Drama – I’m thrilled to see An Adventure in Time & Space nominated. The dramatisation of the creation of Doctor Who was a superb programme – funny, enlightening and deeply moving, with an end that made me shed a tear or two. I hope that it is successful when the winners are announced.
  • Supporting Actor (Drama) – There’s an interesting mix here and I hear from friends that Rory Kinnear was great in Southcliffe so perhaps he will win. However I’m rooting for David Bradley. I’m sorry he isn’t nominated as Best Actor for An Adventure in Time & Space (in which he was utterly superb) and so I hope he takes this award for Broadchurch.
  • Supporting Actress (Drama) – I didn’t see any of the programmes for which the women in this category are nominated so I can’t say who I hope wins. I am however disappointed that Jodie Whittaker is not included for Broadchurch, as she was one of the most powerful aspects of the entire programme.

So who do you think has been omitted and who do you hope wins? I’m interested to hear your thoughts!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Solochocolatee

Si te consideras amante del chocolate, estás en blog adecuado.

Thoughts In Intervals

Tarryn Richardson

Telly Addict

I have been watching

Loitering In the Theatre

My experiences, good and bad, in London theatres.

West End Blog

Bringing you independent, honest, experienced reviews of current theatre shows. We believe theatre is something truly magical and can be enjoyed by everyone.

Mingled Yarns

Anyone who says they have only one life to live must not know how to read a book

Cultural Capital

Theatre, arts and events in London

Vickster51Corner

Theatre, Books, Food & Film/TV reviews

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

The Day - a Play

Theatre, Films, TV, Art

Cleopatra Loves Books

One reader's view

The X-Files Truth Podcast

"The following podcast is based on actual X-Files cases." Email: XFilesTruth@live.com

WEST END WANDERER

Walking my way around the west end one show at a time

Semi-Partisan Politics

A semi-biased commentary on British and American politics, culture and current affairs

mattsmoviethoughts

Movie and TV Reviews

Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth

Life, Faith and Comic Books

