BAFTA Television Awards 2015 Nominations Announced!

House-of-Fraser-BAFTA-Television-Awards-Logo

Yesterday on this blog I tried to predict the nominations for this year’s BAFTA Television Awards and this morning’s announcement, streamed live of the Periscope app, revealed I’d not done too badly at the drama categories.

As I did last year, I thought I’d now try and predict the winners and discuss those surprise inclusions and omissions (let’s face it, there’s always some at awards like this!). I’d be interested to hear what your thoughts are in the run up to the ceremony on Sunday 10th May 2015.

Actor

Starting with Best Actor, I did pretty well here, correctly choosing three of the four nominees. I’m pleased to see Benedict Cumberbatch nominated again for Sherlock, as he did some superb work in series three. However he will have tough competition from James Nesbitt (The Missing), Toby Jones (Marvellous) and Jason Watkins (The Lost Honour of Christopher Jeffries). As much I I’d love Benedict to finally win an acting BAFTA (this is nomination number six), I think he’ll miss out again this year, with Toby Jones’s performance in Marvellous a likely winner. As for omissions, it’s a shame Jamie Dornan missed out for The Fall.

– Predicted Winner: Toby Jones (Marvellous)

Actress

As with the actor category, I picked three of the four actresses making this year’s shortlist and I still think this will be the toughest choice of the night. Choosing between Sarah Lancashire (Happy Valley), Keeley Hawes (Line of Duty), Sheridan Smith (Cilla) and Georgina Campbell (Murdered By My Boyfriend) will be very difficult, but for me I think it has to be Sarah Lancashire. Catherine Cawood was a superb character in Happy Valley and stood out for me all year. As with last year’s awards, the most disappointing omission for me is that of Gillian Anderson for The Fall, who I still think should certainly have had a nomination this year and last year (although the best performance in the form of Olivia Colman for Broadchurch did win in the end in 2014). Georgina Campbell’s nomination is a surprise for me, but that’s purely because I didn’t watch this series.

– Predicted Winner: Sarah Lancashire (Happy Valley)

Drama Series

Only two out of four correctly predicted in the drama series category, with Happy Valley and Line of Duty both rightly being acknowledged this year. The other two nominees are Peaky Blinders (a series I have on DVD ready to catch up on!) and The Missing. I’m sad to see no mention of Sherlock this year, but I’m not completely surprised, due to its inclusion in the Audience Award category and as I’m aware that some people felt this last series was weaker than the others, because they didn’t enjoy the focus of character and relationships over cases (something that didn’t bother me at all). I’m a little surprised about there being no nomination for The Fall (which receives no nominations this year) and Hinterland too, as despite not seeing it myself everyone I know who did watch it raved about it.

– Predicted Winner: Line of Duty

Supporting Actor

The supporting actor and actress nominations were strangely left out of the the live streaming announcement, but it appears that I only selected one correct nominee here. I’m absolutely thrilled to see James Norton nominated for his frightening turn as Tommy Lee Royce in Happy Valley. Also nominated is Adeel Akhtar (Utopia), Stephen Rea (The Honourable Woman) and Ken Stott (The Missing). As I only saw one of the performances it seems a bit unfair for me to pick a winner, but I hope James Norton wins. I do however think Ken Stott will win, as his performance was one I heard an awful lot about when The Missing aired on the BBC. I’m disappointed that there is no mention of Martin Freeman for Sherlock, as he gave a superb performance in all three episodes of series three, but at least he has already won for his role of John Watson in 2011. It’s also a great shame that the wonderful work of Aneurin Barnard in Cilla hasn’t been recognised either.

– Predicted Winner: Ken Stott (The Missing) (but I’m rooting for James Norton!)

Supporting Actress

The supporting actress category was one I had great difficulty picking a shortlist for and so didn’t try. From the list of Gemma Jones (Marvellous), Vicky McClure (Line of Duty), Amanda Redman (Tommy Cooper: Not Like That, Like This) and Charlotte Spencer (Glue), I only watched Line of Duty (after failing to finish Glue), so I’ll simply say I hope she wins. No mention of Joanne Froggatt for Downton Abbey or Amanda Abbington for Sherlock (both of whom could have been worthy nominees this year).

– Predicted Winner: Less certain, but I’m rooting for Vicky McClure (Line of Duty)

International

Another decent round of predictions for the International category, with three out of four correctly predicted! It’s quite a tough line up, with The Good Wife, House of Cards, Orange Is The New Black and True Detective left to battle it out. Some will no doubt be surprised there is no inclusion of Game of Thrones, but I assume this is driven by its inclusion in the Audience Award category. I’m sorry Fargo wasn’t included too. From the choices and despite being a huge House of Cards fan, I’d love The Good Wife to win, as series five was a brilliant run of episodes, containing some shocking story lines and superb acting from all. I wouldn’t be surprised though if True Detective gets the win, as although I’m still struggling to finish it, it seems to have received universal praise.

– Predicted Winner: True Detective (but I’m rooting for The Good Wife!)

Mini Series

I’m never sure what will count as a drama series or mini series, so I didn’t try to predict this shortlist. From the nominees of Cilla, The Lost Honour of Christopher Jeffries, Our World War and Prey, I would love to see Cilla win, as it was a wonderful programme, with impressive performances from Sheridan Smith, Aneurin Barnard and Ed Stoppard. However, I think The Lost Honour of Christopher Jeffries may come out on top.

– Predicted Winner: The Lost Honour of Christopher Jeffries

Single Drama

This was another category for which I didn’t feel I’d seen enough possible choices. From the shortlist of: Marvellous, Common, A Poet In New York and Murdered By My Boyfriend, I’ll take a guess it’ll be Marvellous (although I heard great things about the other three too).

– Predicted Winner: Marvellous 

Radio Times Audience Award

This is the only BAFTA Television Award voted for by the public and has led to some surprising winners in the past (yes I do mean TOWIE!). There are seven nominees here, making the battle that much tougher. From the nominees of: Cilla, Eastenders, Game of Thrones, The Great British Bake Off, The Missing, Sherlock and Strictly Come Dancing, I’ll be voting for Sherlock, especially now it has not been nominated in the main Drama Series category. This one is always hard to predict, with Game of Thrones and The Great British Bake Off both very popular in particular. To vote follow this link: Vote for Audience Award.

– Predicted Winner: Sherlock (the fan base and it’s lack of main drama nomination should swing it)

As I don’t really watch a lot of comedy, soaps or entertainment shows, I have less of an opinion on the remaining categories, but I would say that I hope The Great British Bake Off wins the Features category, Strictly Come Dancing the Entertainment Programme and The Graham Norton Show for the Comedy / Comedy Entertainment Programme award. The full list of nominations can be read here.

So, after a respectable round of predictions yesterday, those are my choices for winners at the ceremony in May. Do let me know your thoughts, especially those performances and programmes you feel should have been nominated!

One thought on “BAFTA Television Awards 2015 Nominations Announced!”

Leave a Reply

